Most people today communicate through mobile phones and computers, reducing face-to-face interactions. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays there are many who are relying on devices such as mobile phones to communicate with people as it is more reliable and easier despite the distance. Although the benefits, there are some disadvantages such as reduced in person interactions and clear expressions of ideas, which can outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, there are advantages to using technologies such as smartphones and computers as a form of communication. One clear advantage is that by using such devices, communication is much more accessible despite the distance. People can connect with their loved ones wherever they might be even if they are in the two ends of the world. In addition, in a busier world where individuals don't have the time to set aside, technology has made communication easier in their busy schedules. For instance, messages now can be sent instantly via email or mobile apps, saving individuals enough time. On the other hand, despite the benefits of technology making life easier, there is a disadvantage of reduced face-to-face interactions. This is because families often rely more upon such form of medium to communicate that they forget to have meaningful conversations in their household. Moreover, these devices have made people lose the skill of listening to others, and clearly expressing ideas that are important. For instance, during the covid pandemic, when online forms of communication were preferred as people had to stay at home, students often found it difficult to interact with their friends after the pandemic. In conclusion, while technology enhances communication by making it accessible and convenient for others, it often leads to reduced meaningful interaction and limited expression of ideas. Overall, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages as the quality of communication is far more important than mere conversations.