Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does the plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic materials such as bags, bottles, and packaging are causing significant threats to the environment and public health. Moreover, their durability leads to a huge waste in oceans. There are several initiatives that the government can take action in order to prevent plastic waste. This essay will elaborate on the damages as well as will provide effective solutions. To begin with, in the modern world, plastics are commonly used in a wide range of industries, especially bv in food packaging and supermarkets. As plastic takes years to decompose it results in affecting the marine life and the ecosystem. For instance, in many developing countries these materials are directly thrown into seas or digged down in the soil. Consequently, harming the aquatic species as they consume plastic substances by assuming it as food, leading to several health issues or even death. Additionally, if these undecomposable material is burnt to completely vanish this results in releasing various harmful gases into the atmosphere causing several skin and health issues to human beings. Although the harmful impact of plastic is growing at an alarming rate however many steps can be taken to address this issue. Firstly, one effective solution is that the government should introduce strict laws to reduce the use of plastic bags and should take higher penalties from those who damage the rivers and oceans. Furthermore, big supermarkets should stop the use of plastic bags and opt for more biodigrable carriers and packaging. Also, individuals play a crucial role by using reusable bags for groceries and shopping. This will result in a more safe environment for both humans and other living species. In conclusion, plastic substances are bad for the environment and these problems can be alleviated through minimizing their use in daily life. In addition, by opting decomposable stuff the negative consequences can be prevented. Lastly, governments, individuals, and organizations must all work together to bring meaningful change.