.A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries , while the use of others is rapidly declining . Is it a positive or negative development ?

In modern society, there is a tendency that a small number of languages are becoming dominant in the world, while many others are being less spoker poker spoken. in my opinion, this trend could bring both positive and negative To begin with, there are substantial benefits to society when many countries share common languages. The first advantage can be easier cross-cultural communication, which helps boost multilateral trade and cultural exchange. It is true that people who are bilingual or multilingual might find it easier to do business or work in an international environment as their issues at work can be addressed and discussed thoroughly. Furthermore, by acquiring languages which are commonly used in business, science and technology, people from the second world accelerate the process of learning from the superpowers. For example: India has achieved such incredible growth partly by using English as their official languages. Despite the great convenience of sharing common languages, the fact other languages are less spoken can bring several drawbacks. The first disadvantage can be that communities would lose parts of their cultural traditions such as songs, myths or poetry which are basically hard to be translated into another language. This may in turn affect their cultural identity producing a weakened social cohesion as their values and traditions would be replaced by some new ones. Moreover, this trend affects not only local culture but also the civilization of mankind. If all countries use the common language instead of using their own, it will gradually destroy the cultural diversity of the world. In conclusion, although I believe the trend is inevitable in the era of globalization, people need to have measures to protect their less spoken languages as a way to preserve their cultural identity.