In some countries, many suffer from health issues due to eating too much fast food. That’s why it is necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, health issues are a main concern for modern people. Some argue that it is necessary for authorities to impose a higher tax on junk food to improve people ’s well-being. In my opinion, I firmly disagree with the statement and here are some reasons. First and formost for most, the regulation of taxing junk food only targets people from low-income groups. Most underpriveledge people choose to eat junk food since it is affordable and convenient, and they don’t have spare time and money to make a healthier choice. It is unreasonable for the government to deprive their right to survive only to enhance people's overall well-being. Eventually, it not only can’t solve the rooted health issues of citizens, but it also imposes further financial burden to the minority. Additionally, it is more efficient to address health issues by offering incentives to encourage people to consume healthier food. In most cases, nutritious food such as fresh vegetables, fruits, and all-grain diet, is more expensive and therefore lowering people's intention of buying them. To be specific, governments can financially support local farmers and encourage them to reduce the cost of production. Eventually, these healthier food will be more affordable and accessible to general public, and the health issues will natually be addressed. In conclusion, although some people suggest to impose tax on junk food to reduce health issues, I firmly diagree with it since it negatively influences the low-income groups. Instead, the government can promote healthier food to better address these problems more efficiently.