Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population?

These days, there is a widespread belief that cycling is the best way of transport. However, since this activity is considered demanding and dangerous, it has remained unpopular in many parts of the world. Therefore, some measures should be taken to encourage more people to ride bicycles. Admittedly, there are some factors that blemish the popularity of bikes as the main mode of transport. First and foremost, the majority of cities around the globe, lack sufficient facilities that can spur commuters to use bikes. As a result of inadequate basic infrastructure, such as special lines for bikes, cycling in some towns is extremely challenging and risky. Take Dahlia as an example, riding a bike during rush hours when thousands of cars are moving around, must be dangerous or even impossible. Furthermore, some individuals claim that commuting with bicycles is time-consuming and requires a painstaking physical effort. In other words, if someone plans a long journey, a considerable amount of time and energy should be wasted. Nevertheless, there are some strategies that encourage more people to use bicycles as the primary means of transport. The most important solution is improving road conditions, so as to prepare a safe and practical area for the riders. Indeed, governments can simply upgrade the streets, by adding some cycling lines and traffic lights. For instance, Amsterdam became the most bicycle-friendly city of the world, after renovations in urban construction, in 2018. Another strategy to increase the popularity of bikes, is raising public awareness about the critical advantages of this activity on health and nature. Holding campaigns, where the local population can be informed and educated, can be a great contribution. In summary, although cycling brings about numerous benefits for both humans and the environment, many people refuse to commute with bikes. Many still believe that, not only it is risky to move around in traffic, but also exhausting and time-consuming. However, this issue may fade with improving road conditions and informing more people about the effects of cycling.