1.Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others believe it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

The time when school children should learn their first foreign language is highly discussed these days. Some think it should be just from the beginning of primary school others think it is better to begin with a new language in secondary school. Both perspectives have merit, but I personally believe that young children benefit most when introducing a new language in the early years. First, learning a language during early education happens through intuitive learning. Integrating foreign words in playing and communication in school has a great effect on their language skills like their mother tongue. Through regular repetition of new words, children will keep the words more easily and learn the right pronunciation more accurately. Secondly, when starting a new language in early years these children will almost be fluent when they reach adulthood, helping with career options and travel. In addition, learning a new language early also deepens the understanding of a new culture and can therefore prevent misunderstandings between young children from different cultures during school conflicts. However, adding a new language too early might also overload and overwhelm the students, who are already learning basic tasks like grammar and writing in their mother tongue. In my opinion, I find it important to learn a second language in the early years while playing but keeping in mind not to overwhelm the students. On the other hand, learning a second language at an older age show a better understanding of grammar rules and complex sentences. Through a deeper knowledge of their mother tongue, they can compare structures and rules more easily. Furthermore, with higher education, these young children have specific goals, which they would like to achieve and therefore the motivation to learn a new language is even higher. Through school exchanges during this period, the learned language can be used and even improved. However, starting a language at a higher age may result in a lower level of fluency and pronunciation and intonation might be more difficult. Also, brain flexibility is less at these ages, so the effort might be higher for the same result. I believe, that studying a second language during higher education is beneficial, however, when possible, learning at a younger age outweighs the benefits of starting later. In conclusion, learning a second language at an early or later age has its advantages and disadvantages. However, I find that the benefits of starting at a younger age clearly outweigh the drawbacks and support a more fluent learning of language and culture.