Topic 8: Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Education is an important part of every individual's life. Without education, it becomes difficult for a person to survive in fast-paced environment. Teachers should be taught different subjects thoroughly in order to make them capable of passing them rather than teaching how to cook or dress appropriately. I partially agree with the given statement which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, academic knowledge is required to clear exams in school. Whatever is taught by the teacher will come in the exam. This is a process of going from elementary school to high school, then college. Without passing those exams, students will reach their desired goals in partcular field. To cite an example, every student wants to choose the best college or university after school.They could get this opportunity, if they pass with required score or sometimes go through the entrance exam. All these requirements can be met with only academic knowledge. On the other hand, these days, every person is migrating to different countries or cities for better job opportunities. Living alone involves many activities, especially cooking food. Person with few cooking skills can make a healthy and balanced diet for themselves rather than having outside food. Thus, healthy food provides proper nutrients and minerals. However, outside food will adversely affect your health. For instance, a recent survey has shown that people who know about cooking are facing fewer health-related issues as compared to those who don't know anything about cooking. Moreover, dressing properly reflects your personality. Having a sense of dressing up will make your first always memorable.People with a good choice of clothes can easily impress anyone, especially at events and interviews. In conclusion, academic knowledge is important but other skills like cooking or dressing cannot be neglected. These skills are also useful in later life especially when you are living alone in big cities.