s Film Star and other Celebrities sometime give their view in the public about topics that does not relate to their profession. Is it a good thing or a bad thing. give reasons to your answers and relevant examples.

Celebrities and Public Commentary: A Double-Edged Sword. When film stars and other celebrities voice opinions on topics outside their expertise, it can be both beneficial and problematic. The positive impact of this is that celebrities can amplify important issues in other words, celebrities can draw attention to social causes happening in the country. Secondly is the influence for good. Their platforms may inspire fans to engage in activism (e.g. going out to vote for right candidates during election e.t.c) Moving on to the negative aspects, one of the major contravening problem is firstly the lack of expertise. Opinions on complex issues (e.g., vaccines, politics) may spread misinformation if not well-researched. Additionally, overshadowing experts is also a negative impact. Public focus may shift from qualified voices to celebrity soundbites. For instance, in 2021 during the COVID outbreak, a popular Nigerian celebrity publicly discouraged COVID -19 vaccination which led to a hesitancy among fans despite medical experts’ effort to counter misinformation. In Conclusion, while celebrities can positively impact public discourse, they should exercise responsibility, acknowledging their influence and deferring to experts when appropriate. The key lies in balancing their platform’s power with informed, humble engagement.