Some people believe that only employees who have worked at a company for a long time deserve to be promoted to a higher position. What is your opinion about this?

Many argues that only promotion is only intitled to the employes who served company for long duration. I disagree because skill evaluation and equality plays major role in company while promoting someone. Certain organizations have certain creteria and qualification for each positions. So when a new recruitment process takes place, all the candidate get matched with the requirements. Although this can not be said for experienced work who had worked in company for several year. They get to higher position without any necessary skills and examinations. As a result, the business have to suffer when the employee does not perform. This happen often since the required step was not follow to promote one. For instance, former owner of Twitter app had several employees promoted based on their time span which resulted in various sector of company either not working properly or does not play part in achieving goals. Other then skill evaluation the sense of equality makes the work space stronger. If the person who started earlier then the person who join recently get promoted even though the first person does not meet required have more potential. This will create a poor quality of work environment, the employes would not feel safe as they not get treated equally. Every one should get equal chance despite their gender, age or superiority. Furthermore, this can benefit the business as the competition will be higher for the role than like an obligation to promote certain individual. For example, human tends to get lazy and graceful of something that they already believe to possess, whereas a race to earn something motivates one. To conclude, I opine that business should consider qualification, evaluation and equal participation when promotion an employee.