Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these historical sites and museums?

In recent years, there are less people visit historical sites and museums in their hometown. These tourist spots are less attractive to locals because the residents already familiar with these places. To solve the problem, I believe that these spots can hold new exhibitions or activities to attract locals. One primary reason that residents do not interested in their own historical sites and museums is that they have are already familiar with these sites. To be specific, since it is likely for them to live with these places since they were born, they understand the cultural background and detailed information of these spots very deeply and it is unnessasary for them to revisit. For example, people who live in Rome for their lifetime have used to historical sites, such as various cathedrals and monuments very well,unlike tourists, they will not feel astonishing again when seeing these common achitactures architecture. Eventually, they are no longer enthusiastic toward these buildings and it would be reasonable for them not to visit these tourist spots again. A key solution of this issue is that museums or these historical sites can hold innovative exhibitions and activities to attract locals. Since they already feel bored with sites that integral into their life, authorities can stimulate their willingness of visiting these spots by holding up-to-date exhibitions that always provide brand new displays for locals. For example, they can collaborate with museums in other regions or promote cultural exchange programs with local artists. These special events that locols never know before will natually apeal to them and the likelihood of visiting increases. (not only… but also: attract locals while promoting these other museums & artists) In conclusion, I suggest that because of familiarity, local residents stop visiting their own historical sites and museums and the government can tackle the issues by offering numerous events for residents to participate.