38.Some people think that games can help children to develop a wide range of skills, while others believe that video games have a negative impact on children. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Gaming can have both negative and positive impacts on children. When discussing games and their effects on the development of skills in children, it is important to note that there is a wide array of gaming tools available in today's society, including but not limited to: PlayStation, XBox, Nintendo, iPad, and phones. Those who argue that video games have a negative impact on children may largely be referring to the overuse of screen-time, which can be problematic in devices which give access to other apps and tools, such as smartphones. Extensive screen time can not only disrupt childrens' focal ability, but their visual acuity too. Prolonged gaming acivity may also result in less time spent doing other activities, and potentially visible reluctance in participating in outdoor activities, as they would be more inclined to stay indoors and play games all day. Additionally, if proper adult supervision is not available, children may find themselves downloading and playing games that are out of their age range, and thus containing scenes of violence, or inappropriate language. Naturally, children will then repeat words they hear, especially those of younger ages who are much more easily influenced. Scenes of violence may also cause distress to the viewers, and potentially impact their sleep - which may stunt growth. Those who are pro-gaming activity in children may argue that certain games such as sudoku, will aid in intellectual development and improve their relationship with numbers and maths. Certain board games may also contribute to this, Monopoly being a great example as participants have to deal with money, hence improving their maths skills. Other board games such as Operation, may improve a child's manual dexterity, and even inspire them to pursue professions in the field of healthcare! In conclusion, I believe that the impact that gaming can have on a child's development depends on many factors such as the type of game, and the duration of it. As with most things, moderation is key.