Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In recent times, mothers and fathers put a lot of pressure on their offspring to be successful. This is happening because they believe it is the only way to secure a good future. In my opinion, this is a negative trend as it affects young developing minds adversely. In today’s fast-paced world, many parents think pressurizing their children will enable them to improve academically and build a stable future. In a world with more competition and fewer employment opportunities, parents tend to worry that without good grades and attaining success, their children might have to struggle later in life. For example, juveniles with no proper attention and guidance from their parents tend to gravitate towards criminal activities, sometimes resulting in imprisonment. In my view, this is not a beneficial trend as young individuals have developing and easily impressionable minds. Such behaviour of parents can lead to children experiencing mental trauma leading to problems such as depression and anxiety in the future. For instance, a child who is always expected to ace exams might experience anxiety about failing or disappointing their parents. As a result, young ones suffer from psychological problems such as stunted emotional growth and a decline in self-confidence. In conclusion, children undergo a huge amount of pressure from their parents as they consider it as, the most efficient method to be successful in life. According to my opinion, it is a negative trend because it affects young minds negatively, causing mental problems such as self-doubt and sleeplessness.