36.Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, around the world, people can see the same films, fashion, brands, advertisements, and TV channels. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that as time goes by the differences between countries are decreasing, especially in the entertainment and fashion industries. While it is a commonly held belief that the similarities between nations are a positive thing, there is also an argument that opposes this idea. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, watching the same TV shows or wearing the same clothes all over the world increases the interconnection between people. In other words, having things in common contributes to building relationships with a strong foundation. In addition, similar entertainment culture may lead to many business opportunities between countries. For example, Riyadh season adapt the world entertainment culture, which leads to many visitors from all over the world and a cooperation between them and the United States in this field. On the other hand, keeping pace without consciousness with trends that spread globally may cause people to lose their own culture. It is also possible to say that individuals who chase the global trend will lose the sense of their own culture. Moreover, the spreading of these things had a huge impact on people ’s minds, which lead them to reduce the usage of their native language. For instance, people in Saudi Arabia, influenced by the Hollywood movies and the fashion in the US, many of them follow the trends there without any awareness, which causes them to lose their identity and struggle with their own language. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that it is a positive thing that people all around the world have the same entertainment or fashion trends, but it is very important to be aware about them because some of them cannot match our values and principles.