Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Because of technological developments, an increasing number of people started to work from home or online when they are outside of their countries, resulting in no need to commute to work. In my opinion, the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks as I will explain. On one hand, there are some downsides to this trend and one of them is that it might become a challenge for employees to get motivated and keep working with morale. This is because when you are working from home and working online, there are a number of temptations at home ranging from tasty foods to video games with instant access to them, which could discourage you from working, thus the level of motivation for work might end up dwindling. Moreover, it can lead you to a loss of the sense of camaraderie with your coworkers, which is an essential element to work as a full-fledged member of society. In most professions, face-to-face communication at work is a vital aspect to boost workers’ motivation and the financial growth of a company. However, this can be mitigated by having some strict rules such as penalties. On the other hand, working from outside of the workplace brings more benefits in terms of saving more time for private lives and reducing some outlay for commuting. Indeed, it can be a time-effective solution because working from home means that you do not have to take a train or a bus to commute every day. Instead, you can spend more time on what you like to do such as reading a book or just relaxing and energising yourself for the next coming day. Furthermore, this mobility can allow businesses to curb their expenditure on employees’ commuting, which may also be a cost-effective remedy for firms. In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of remote work such as lowering motivation towards work and losing a sense of camaraderie at work, the upsides to this mobility are more significant because it will encourage us to spend a better quality of life and help companies reduce their commuting expense.