Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

The rise of overcrowding in metropolitan areas has become a major problem among authorities and the general public. This situation has created a lack of resources and a competitive environment. A viable solution may be to implement renewable sources and develop rural areas. First and foremost, in the present day, people have started using more innovative technology and machines that consume a huge amount of electricity all over the world. Therefore, to provide a whole region with electricity, a lot of nuclear power and oil production plants should be constructed. Most of the power stations and productions that manufacture energy for cities negatively impact the surroundings due to hazardous waste. As a consequence, the environment becomes polluted and non-renewable resources are getting depleted. This tendency negatively affects human well-being and nature. Another contributing factor is a shortage of free places in educational institutions and health-related medical centres, since they have become limited due to overpopulation. As a result, huge competition appears among individuals in metro cities. It is a toxic environment where each person struggles with a lack of basic necessities. For example, in the centre of Astana city, students face overcrowding at schools and a lack of places to study. To tackle this issue, one effective solution would be to develop technologies and eco-vehicles that would consume renewable sources such as solar and wind energy. That could be achieved by constructing solar panels on top of houses and transport. This improvement would beneficially affect nature and living beings. Another possible measure is to expand urban areas where more schools, universities, and hospitals will be built. For instance, turning a village into a city would provide more workplaces and places to study. In conclusion, overcrowding creates environmental and social problems that can be solved by implementing renewable sources and transforming rural fields into urban ones.