People today are surrounded by advertising. Do you think the positive effects of advertising outweigh the negative effects?

A widely heated debate regarding whether the merits of widespread advertisements outweigh the demerits has received accumulating attention from the public. As for my perspective, I am convinced that it brings more negative impact rather than benefits, and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. An array of factors may lead to why people obtain certain pros of omnipresent advertising. To begin with, advertisement helps businesses grow by informing consumers about latest products and service. Companies can be more competitive, results in the higher quality and lower prices. Moreover, advertisements can raise awareness about important social issues, such as health campaigns against smoking and protecting environment. These types of ads contribute positively on human behaviors and decision-making. On the contrast, as far as I am concerned, the drawbacks of widespread advertisement significantly overwhelm the positive impact. Firstly, individuals might to spending more unnecessary items because attractive advertisements were designed. This can lead to consumerism, where people buying some goods they do not need, result in financial pressure. According to the study from National Taiwan University, more than 67% citizens confessed that they had experience on impulsive shopping after accessing related advertisements. Secondly, advertising also targets certain groups are not mature enough, such as children, influencing them to purchase junk food or violent toys which are unhealthy to their mental and physical health. Take my cousin as an example. He is a ten-year-old boy who was hooked by the fast food advertisements on the internet, he got obesity eventually due to absorbed junk food once a week. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I believe omnipresent advertisement contributes more negative effects rather than benefits since it lead to impulsive shopping and financial pressure, also influences teenagers to buying fast food and playing violent online games.