Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

The trend of introducing laws to restrict working hours for workers has gradually spread over some countries. That is because the large amount of working time causes some negative effects for employees, such as mental health issues, a decrease in the quality of working and accelerating exploitation from employers. I believe that this trend are a positive development because it ensures to provide workers with a stable and healthy life. To limit working hours is substantially important in terms of protecting employees ' human rights. Severe working environment triggers various problems. First of all, the excessive amount of working time causes to workers ' mental health issues. For example, in the case of Japan, depression by excessive work has been a significant problem because it leads to an increase in the rate of suicide. Moreover, if laws to restrict working hours were not introduced, employeers employees could easily exploit workers without taking care about their human rights. In fact, the previous history shows that many employees had been suffered from serious working condition due to lack of enough law power to prevent exploitation from occurring. Also, from the positive perspective, adequate working time enhances employees ' performance and it ultimately contributes to positive impact on companies' profits. For example, a company in Japan experienced a considerable growth by promoting to secure workers ' work-life balance. In conclusion, while some countries start to take action to limit working hours for workers for some reasons such as protecting their health and human rights, I believe that this introduction makes a positive effect.