In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, consumers in various countries have had access to food produced across the world in local supermarckets. In my opinion, I believe that the phenomenon is both positive and negative. On the one hand, one primary positive impact is the variety of food choices globalized locals' view point. To be specific, consumers nowadays have access to exotic cuisines previously unavailable or rare, and after encountering different flavors, it enriches their overall cultural experiences and boarden their horizens. For example, in Taiwan, people now can easily obtain Swiss cheese or fresh blueberries from South American without the needs for taking a long-haul flight. Eventually, the conveniency allows individuals to enjoy the different tastes among various continents and make their life entertaining. On the other hand, the delivery process of foods around the globe is detrimental to natural environment. Notably, foods which travel across the sea usually have higher carbon food prints, and that means the way that these foods are transported leads to larger carbon emissions. For example, the transportation of a single bag of tomatos from Europe to Asia usually produce tons of green house gases because of a huge amount of consumption in fossil fuel by planes. Ultimately, the whole delivery process triggers global warming, air pollution, and damges on environments. In conclusion, I believe that simple access to foreign foods can have both positive and negative influences to human society, as it forms globalization, but simultaneously contributes to environmental degradation and climate change.