Crime rates, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate? (Ulvi)

In most countries, the level of crime is higher in cities than in villages. This essay will explore the causes of this issue, such as the high level of poverty and the lack of education and will find ways, like providing highly-educated tutors and opening new workplaces to combat this problem. First of all, in rural areas, residents cannot find jobs and they turn to offending. To be more specific, sometimes it is hard to meet family needs, as a result, some individuals think that there is only one way to cover daily needs; to commit crime. For instance, in Venezuela, the rate of offence is higher than in other countries, and it is considered that the majority of convicts come from villages due to poverty. Another cause of the high rate of crime in rural places is the lack of education. In other words, children in these areas do not study well, after becoming adults, they cannot find work and which results in committing an offence. There are different methods to overcome this problem. The solution is for the government to provide a high level of education. They can modernize schools, increase the number of educated teachers, and do some activities to attract students to the schools. At the same time, they should drop the level of unemployment by opening some factories or other facilities. Therefore, if all these are done, people will not offend and the rate of crime in rural areas will decrease. In conclusion, taking all the aforementioned points into account, I am convinced that although in villages, more people commit crimes due to cover needs and not finding jobs, with the rising literacy level and workplaces it is possible to tackle this problem.