Experts believe that, over the next decade, robots will be doing many of the jobs currently done by humans. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

The automation of mechanical labour has come a long way since the start of the 20th century. For a long time machines were only used for monotonic, repeating tasks like part assembly or processing food. But in the last few years the field of artificial intelligence experienced a massive growth spurt, while its capabilities became more and more advanced. Recently a lot of reasonable concerns have been raised about the leaps of AI and how they can make humans obsolete in a lot of work areas. It is undeniable that AI has the capabilities to push forward a lot of science fields and help us do a lot of tasks way more efficiently. Because of that it will not only remove a lot of undesirable tasks from our day to day lives, but also help people in all fields of science while improving our knowledge of the world. Even though AI has a lot to offer we cannot forget the dangers and problems that can develop because of it. In the first place, if artificial intelligence reaches the human level in terms of creativity, it will start to be seen as a more efficient and cost effective workforce. In this instance, unemployment will skyrocket, because a lot of employers will inevitably replace their employees. And because of the ease of access of AI, it can become a problem on a global scale. To summarise, the positive effect of artificial intelligence is indisputable, and it will only improve in the future, but while doing so, it can increase unemployment and sabotage world economies.