In recent years, responsible tourists have paid attention to preserving both culture and environment of the places they visit. However, some people say that it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is very common for tourists to take care about the places they visit. Unlike the past, they try not to harm the environment and respect cultural values of their destination. However, a group of people believe that it is not possible for all tourists to be responsible like that. I vehemently believe this to be completely true due to different tourists ’ cultures and the nature of the tourism industry itself. One of the most important reasons why we cannot have responsible tourists, is the different cultures of the visitors themselves. Tourists come from different places and with various cultural backgrounds, which leads to have various methods of treating where they are visiting. The respectable values are different from a region to another region, so the standards of treating a destination’s culture and preserving its environment are different. For instance, cutting trees and making fire with them might be a normal action for most of the African people, while this might be a show of damaging the environment in other individual’s perspective. Another reason for this issue is the nature of tourism itself. Nowadays, tourism is an industry and it means many agencies and organizations are involved in it. Their goal is to move as much people as they can to various locations. This could lead to put plenty of pressure on the destination’s environmental and cultural resources. It is undeniable that the more people visit a place, the more they produce wastage and also they could cause more traffic and pollutions and consequently damage the environment. In addition, when a region with a rich culture becomes overcrowded by foreign visitors with different cultural backgrounds, it is highly likely that gradually they affect that place’s values and consequently change their culture. In conclusion, many tourists try to be responsible and preserve the environment and culture of the regions they visit. On the other hand, some believe it is not achievable for all visitors to act in this way. I believe due to the tourists ’ different attitudes and the nature of the tourism industry; it is not possible to be a responsible tourist for all visitors.