Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that the rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is people believe that the main purpose of prison is punishment on the other hand there is those who says that the prison most important role is to repair. This essay will discuss both views and also my opinion. It's known to be that prison is where every criminal gets what they deserve after the court decides what's the right thing to do with him. Majority of humans have faith in the punishment given to the prisoner since they believe that this is what prison supposed to be about, which is punishment. For example, when a person steals something and go to prison for a specific amount of time, 35% of individuals in UK see that as punishment in their latest research. On the other hand, seeing prison as the place to reform those who have wronged is what other people believe to be. Rehab is to help an individual in need to be better as a human in every possible way. In my point of view, prison is there for both. For instance, if someone beat another or take one of his rights as a human, they would go to prison for a period of time in order to repair them. But if one killed another soul, they would have a death sentence as a punishment to their crime. It really depends on the action that was made to say is it a place of punishment or rehab. In conclusion, people believe differently on what is the purpose of the prison. Some say it is to punish while others say it is to repair. I believe that it could be both depends on what is the crime.