More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, an increasing number of people have been struggling with obesity worldwide. Some argue that expensive fast food can discourage people from consuming it. While raising the price of fast foods can potentially combat this problem, l firmly believe that personal choice is the key driver of being obese. Admittedly, making fattening foods more expensive can help to reduce the demand for fattening foods. If restaurants put considerably high prices for their fast foods, it is likely that fewer people go there to consume unhealthy food, resulting in adapt healthy lifestyle. It is proven that the more jkfattening foods are consumed, the greater the number of obese people and high cost can presumably persuade people to limit their fast food consumption. As an obvious example -- Sweden where individuals from there eat less fattening foods due to their significantly high prices. Despite these, l still remain convinced that high cost cannot alone tackle this issue because of the personal preference of some who have relatively high social status. In other words, they are not worried about the cost of food and consume them constantly. Unlike other low-income families, wealthy people do not face financial constraints and opt for the delicious one even though it leads unhealthy lifestyle. The US citizens comparably suffer more in terms of obesity as opposed to other nationalities due to wealthy communities and simply put personal choice and preference over cost. In conclusion, although the high cost of fast foods can play a crucial role in reducing demand for fast food, l believe that expensive foods cannot solely solve the problem, when the community is being wealthy.