Providing children with a phone from an early stage is a great way to teach them how technology works and can be helpful in the long run. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Providing children with a phone from an early stage is a great way to teach them how technology works and can be helpful in the long run. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Nowadays children use phones and technologic devices since their birth. It is claimed that it may be useful in the long-term because allow to understand earlier how to use them. In my opinion, the excessive utilisation of cellphone could have detrimental effect on the overall development of children, so the screen-time should be limited to activities with educational purpose. Screen media can have both beneficial and detrimental effects on a kid's cognitive results. Some argue that media devices have the potential to improve education and learning. For instance, a research of the Wolrd Health Organisation has suggested that electronic books and learning-to-read applications may improve young children's early reading skills and creative thinking capacities. Moreover, as a digital native, it is important that kids familiarise with phones, which are essential tools in the digital era. However, earlier exposure to screen may lead to cognitive delays, linguistic problems and academic difficulties. In fact, a Spanish research study discovered a negative correlation between the use of screen media and academic achievement, indicating that increased screen time was associated with lower academic performance. Similarly, a study conducted in the United States found a significant link between higher levels of media multitasking and lower scores on standardised tests measuring academic performance in mathematics and English. In conclusion, although there is evidence that technological devices can be useful in developing learning skills, the excessive utilisation may be harmful over years and the negative effects outweight the positive one’s.