Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjets that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different points of view on what subjects should be taught at school. Some claim that it is convenient to focus on what allows students to have better career opportunities, while others believe that also sports and music are essential. As far as I am concerned, although STEM subjects make it easy to enter the labour market, practical activities are fundamental for teenagers to better understand their feelings and for being able to work with peers, both contributing to individuals overall well-being. On the one hand, disciplines like science, mathematics, physics and engineering are considered critic for plenty of reasons. Firstly, these equip students with a strong foundation of transferable skills and knowledge. For instance, maths helps in developing problem-solving abilities, and sciences provides individuals critical thinking and information about the world. Secondly, a solid foundation in these studies is often a prerequisite for obtaining admission at universities or vocational training programs. In a fast-paced world, expertise that make you attractive to the world of work are important for career success. On the other hand, extracurricular subjects such as music and sports foster creativity, teamwork and emotional well-being. Music is often considered as a way to escape from bad feelings, while sports and arts nurture creativity, leadership and empathy, which are soft-skills equally important to those related to STEM subjects. Additionally, many teenagers desire to turn their passions into a career and are not keen on excelling at school but prefer to focus on what make them feels good. Therefore, excluding these inclinations a priori could lead to dissatisfaction and further less interest in scientific subjects. In conclusion, while academic subject are essential for career preparation, schools should not neglect music and sports as they contribute to a child's overall wellness. I believe that both didactic and extracurricular activities have their own perks and they should be equally implemented in teenager's life.