Private car ownership has been increasing over the past few decades. This has given ordinary people greater mobility, but has also led to concerns about traffic congestion and air pollution. Do the advantages of private car ownership outweigh the disadvantages?

The prevalence of personal cars has become a cornerstone of modern life. In this regard, although driving personal vehicles can make it easier to move around, it also causes traffic jams and environmental issues. This essay will explore both, the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal, and demonstrate why it is more advantageous due to its contribution to economic growth. On the one hand, cars are admittedly one of the major contributors to traffic congestion and air pollution. Indeed, most cars can accommodate at least 4 passengers, however, rarely are all four seats occupied while this vehicle takes up four times as much space as a single bike. Moreover, a large number of cars now still run on petrol which obviously exhausts an immense amount of fume. For example, Tokyo has banned cars in central area since 2000 and the air quality has seen an improvement of more than 70 per cent. Therefore, until there are more sustainable environment-friendly fuel sources, the problems caused by travelling by cars are not solved. On the other hand, the economy can benefit greatly from individuals having a personal automobile. In other words, owning a car provides people with the ability to go on a long route without restrictions to public transport, which potentially leverages local tourism growth. For instance, Vietnamese tourists have discovered more attractions just by exploring new places with their own vehicles. In addition, the tendency to possess personal vehicles like cars has definitely alleviated the financial burden associated with owning a house in the centre. This is because people can drive to work in the central area while living on the outskirts with better housing, which ultimately results in urbanization and local economic development. In conclusion, despite its drawbacks of environmental pollution and traffic blockage, private car possession is an effective way to develop the local economy. To ensure the continuity of this trend, new petrol-free car models should be built and brought out to the market.