Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a country in which people do not speak your mother tongue can have both some critical social and practical obstacles. I completely agree with this statement based on several reasons. The most crucial practical issue you may come across when living in a foreign country with a foreign language is inevitably impaired communication with others. That is, you can not establish a good rapport with your neighbors and colleagues if you can not precisely make them comprehend what you are trying to say. Every language has its intricate rules in using the correct word or phrase in a convenient situation to convey your intention and thoughts perfectly and concisely. However, a non-native speaker may not have the chance to be well-informed of all of them. Take the phrase take off as an example; imagine what an offence would it be to directly say someone that when they are going to take off to ask about the time of their flight as it is an impolite way of asking the others to leave in the native-speaking language. What is more, language barrier not only prevents foreigners to have good practical communication whit others but can gradually launch them on the path of feeling unassertive and depressed. People unconsciously pay less attention to someone who is struggling with finding suitable words and stuttering which makes that non-native person feel embarrassed and even more self-conscious constantly. Although they might even be some talented and intelligent people who can play a substantial role in different professional occasions, language barrier may never let them to be seen and appreciated. Consequently, they prefer not to talk and even break the ice unless it is so necessary and it definitely leads to loss of self-confidence and feeling of loneliness which make non-natives face destructive mood disorders such as depression. In conclusion, immigrating to another foreign country whit foreign language can have some disastrous impacts on people psychologically and make them face with social problems as they may find it so struggling to communicate others.