Government of many countries had to impose a lockdown to control the Coronavirus pandemic. What were the advantages and disadvantages of this lockdown.Give eamples from your own experience

There are contrasting viewpoints on the lockdown that happened during the Coronavirus outbreak. In this essay, we shall discuss the benefits and the drawbacks of the government's measures to control the situation. Firstly, a lockdown must take place in order to prevent the spread of the deadly virus due to it being highly contagious through close contact thus, confining people to their homes makes logical sense as this lessens the need for people to meet each other and potentially infecting more of the population. For instance, when as soon as lockdown started, the number of rapidly surging positive cases began to slow down and eventually flatline, in time for the government to roll out vaccines, and subsequently helped in taking pressure off the overworked healthcare employees and overcrowded hospitals. However, the lockdown affected many parts of the economy, notably those in the tertiary sectors such as hotels, restaurants and many other supporting industries. For example, due to the lockdown, all forms of tourism came to a halt and as a result, many restaurants, cafes and bars suffered without local and overseas patrons, forcing them out of business entirely. This put many people out of jobs and the economy is still struggling to recover. In conclusion, the government implementation of curfew during the pandemic was beneficial in controlling the spread of the virus and aided healthcare workers' load however, as a drawback, much of businesses suffered as a result.