Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that high school programmes should require unpaid community services, such as enhancing the neighborhood or helping younger children with sports. Although some people argue that unpaid labour is unfair, I strongly believe that the experience young people gain through community service greatly overshadows the drawbacks. To begin with, people are against unpaid work because it seems unjust. Indeed, working several hours without any sort of financial compensation can be demotivating and overwhelming because people are not being rewarded for their efforts. In Sudan, high school students are often compelled to do volunteer work. However, the majority of students despise this idea because they would rather spend time studying instead. Besides, without any financial gain, students think that it is extremely unfair and having to balance both volunteering and studying for exams is a hassle. While I do agree that having no financial gain might be disappointing, the knowledge that students receive remains valuable. That is to say, such jobs foster a sense of accomplishment and offer many insights that can contribute people’s success. For instance, many reputable doctors once worked as teachers for the sole purpose of creating a better portfolio. Although they did not receive any remuneration, they were able to develop a better understanding of many topics through their teaching job. This example speaks volumes about how youngsters should partake in unpaid community services simply to learn. To conclude, while an unpaid service can be a hassle and might seem unjust, the financial drawbacks are eclipsed by the benefits due to the immense knowledge students can gain.