Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 254 words.

Crime is always been the biggest issue for the government to tackle. Many people believe that the longer prison period for the criminal, the better the outcome would be. While others claim that there are many ways to reduce the crime rate, such as supportive rehabilitation and education program. This essay will discuss both view, and give my opinion why support the latter approach. To begin with, supporters to the longer imprisonment argue that it can reduce the criminal rate by giving some time for the criminal to reflect during the prison period, they have their time to regret their past action, in order to be the better human life afterward. Furthermore, some prisons provide a humanity program that consists of the criminal, as one of the way to bring them to a better quality of life by planting a good habbit. On the other hand, it is important to address to root causes of crime in order to achieve sustainability reduction in crime. The longer prison sentences do not address the root cause of crime correctly, such as poverty, lack of education, as well as mental health issue. In fact, investing in the education and rehabilitation program may be more effective in preventing crime in the long term. Additionally, a right rehabilitation system can help the offenders to recall and readapt to the better society, preventing them to do more illegal actions, compared to the lengthy sentences. In conclusion, while there are many discourse that the longer prison sentences impacted positively to the criminal behavior, a more holistic approach such as education and rehabilitation programs is likely to be work effectively in reducing crime levels.