Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 254 words.

In the prevailing era, crime is a serious problem across the globe and all countries are trying to deal with this pressing issue. A section of the society think that prison sentences for long duration can help to mitigate the crime. While Other disagree and argue that there are other better way to solve this. This essay agrees with the arguments that the alternative ways such as educating people, and giving resources to income are far better than giving them punshiment for long term. To begin with, many people think that offenders should be punished with long term sentences because this phenomenon can invoke fears among other individuals. If a person know about the intensity of prisonment before committing crime, it will discourage him for becoming a criminal. For example, In the UAE, rappist and murders usually get life time prison sentence, resulting in making people think twice before commiting crimes, Hence, imposing strict punishment deters people to commit crimes. However, I believe that alternative ways such as offering proper education and employment can solve the issues in an effective way. Sufficient education and job opportunities can help to keep the masses busy and away from crimes. To illustrate, in Swedan, education is free for everyone and the government is continuously working to create for more employment opportunities. This is the main reason why Swedan has the name in the peaceful countries list where the crime rate is ignorable. To conclude, although longer prison terms certainly instill fear in the minds of potential criminals and dicourage them to commit offences, I reckon that eroding the root cause by providing education and employment opportunities is a far better option.