Governments give a lot of support to artists,even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governments greatly invests in artists. While some argue that it is unnecessary and funds should be allocated to other public sectors such as health, education, and transportation. I believe that the arts should also be given enough attention because it is equally important as other public sectors and it preserves our culture and traditions. On the one hand, many people believe argue that artists should not be supported because it is a waste of money. They believe that other sectors such as health, education, and transportation should be prioritised. Furthermore, citizens expect that funds should be diverted to the construction of infrastructure to improve health, education and transportaton services in the country. When these areas are neglected it causes adverse effects on society such as limited and inaccessible hospital facilities that cause queues which are physically and mentally draining, accidents as a result of bad road networks, and poor education standards. These challenges suggest that there are more pressing issues to solve than investing in the creative industry. For instance, according to reports in Nigeria, there has been a notable rise in mortality rates because of long waiting times to treat chronic diseases such as cancer,diabetes and hypertension. However, I believe that the art sector should not be ignored but greatly invested in as well. On the other hand, it is thought by some that governments should allocate a larger proportion of their annual budget to the arts sector because it promotes national tourism and preserves cultural heritage. As governments spend immensely on the creative industry, more tourists attraction sites like art galleries, museums, theatres would become appealing and thereby attracting lots of tourists from all over the world which would improve the economy of the country. Students should also be educated on their history and ways of life. For example, The Government of the United Kingdom invests in the construction and maintenance of historical sites such as The British Museum, Tate Modern among others which generates income for their country. I believe this school of thought because it fosters a sense of cultural identity in students, enhances the appreciation and value of their customs and tradition. In conclusion, although some think that it is not important for governments to support artists because it is unnecessary to do so. I believe that it is essential and vital to the growth and development of a country's economy and preservation of cultural heritage.