Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In other people’s perspective, animal trials are awful and should be banned. Nevertheless, for others, scientific breakthroughs can only be achieved through animal testing. In line with this, innumerable milestones in the field of science were achieved through animal experimentations. Consequently, without the assistance of laboratory animals, such as mice and pigs, a number of epidemics will never have been resolved and stopped without inventing proper and effective counter medications and vaccines. A reminder of this was how an epidemic, such as tuberculosis, and pandemic, like COVID - 19, were addressed by undergoing clinical trials for effectiveness and animal trials to evaluate any emerging adverse effects to vaccines. Also, animal testing paved the way to necessary medication that we know today namely hypertensive medications, allergy medications, fever tablets, and many others. These are the justifiable human acts on animal experimentation and its innovative impact in the world of medicine. Alternatively, medical advances can also be achieved by utilizing the human body. An exmaple of this are cellular testing, post - mortem human tissues and organ experimentation, human volunteer testing and diagnosis. These are just alternative ways to eradicate the use of animals in laboratories. In doing so, scientists are not only comparing closer data to the biology of humans but also assisting the reduction, and later eradication, of cruelties done on animals inside the laboratories. In summary, there are undeniable inhumane acts that humankind had performed on laboratory animals. Nonetheless, I believe that this is the only way to achieve scientific breakthroughs. However, I stand that their death and suffering must be justifiable and humane as possible.