News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, the media uses posters while publishing news on television and newspapers. A group of people state that these drawings have more impact than the story itself however others refute the same. My opinion is aligned with the former view and below is the supporting ideas for the same. Firstly, an image speaks more than words. This is because a thousand words essay can be easily described in a simple picture. This is the reason why these photos are used in hoardings on roads to give a message to the driver. Furthermore, televisions use the animations to make the audience understand the new concept in the market. For an instance, in 2020, a tax regime was introduced by the South African Government and all the efforts by the media to make the public understand the concept verbally was failed and finally succeeded by an animation. This proves how an image has a powerful impact on one’s understanding. Secondly, the public remembers photos and colours longer as compared to words. This is because society will forget messages written in words but can easily recollect images by seeing any photographs that resemble the original image. Moreover, the colour used in photos speaks various things like red means danger or stop and white means peace. For example, the red light used in the car or in traffic signal is used to send the message that the driver needs to apply the brake. This red colours in the poster mean danger and almost every person in the world understands. That is the reason why safety messages on the road or on electrical appliances are always written in red. To conclude, words may describe things in a more structured way but the actual and more impact message is always provided by photographs. These photos not only make people understand the concept in a faster way but also remember the message for a long time. In my opinion, a picture is the best way to communicate in real life.