Some people believe that a person’s criminal record should be removed when they reach the age of 18. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that ones criminal record should be removed when they reach the age of 18. I partially disagree with this, however, in this essay i want to highlight both sides of view. Many believe that underage individuals are still in their development stage, and wrong behavior should not define their future opportunities. By removing their criminal record, society allows for rehabilitation rather than lifelong stigma. Furthermore, many have the opinion, that young offenders learn from their mistakes, and this legal amnesty helps them reintegrate into society as law-abiding citizens. It follows the topic of restorative justice, which aims to rather heal than punish. Another perspective is that having a clean record is essential for underage citizens to gain employment, secure housing, and continue their education. Having a police record could leave them with limited opportunities and come with the consequences of recidivism into crime. Nevertheless, many think that certain crimes, like violent offenses, should remain on record as they could pose a risk for the community and undermine public safety. In the USA, most prisoners are repeat offenders and go to prison several times. Removing the criminal record of young adults would mean they could commit felonys felony on a clean record, which makes them harder to prosecute. To summarize, while it can be a a risk to society, to delete ones rap sheet, people can also benefit from it when they stay away from offences and reintegrate into the public. I firmly believe, small crimes like stealing should be eliminated upon turning 18, while violent crimes should remain on track records to strenghten state security.