One of the major problems that today’s government faces is creating enough satisfactory housing for their increasing populations whilst still trying to protect the environment. How can this be achieved? Discuss and give your opinion.

There is a debate among people about how to choose the way of punishment for criminals. A group of individuals presents that punishment for crimes should be the same for all, whereas others believe that each criminal must be assessed based on their situation and the offender's intentions. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that having fixed punishments for each type of crime ensures consistency and fairness in society. It can also act as a deterrent, as potential criminals would be aware of the consequences of their actions. For instance, a person would know that if they commit a crime like a robbery, they will be sentenced to prison. Hence, they might avoid committing significant crimes. On the other hand, another group of people claim that not all crimes are committed under the same conditions or for the same reasons. They insist that judges should be allowed to investigate the roots of crime, such as whether the crime was accidental or intentional. However, I do not find this argument convincing as it might contribute to discrimination and potential bias in the court. Additionally, some judges might be offered a bribe to consider fake circumstances as real ones to reduce the level of criminals' punishment and vice versa. For example, they are more likely to suppose an accidental murder as a deliberate crime, and the reverse might also happen. To conclude, although some believe that individual circumstances should be considered when determining punishments, I firmly support the idea of fixed penalties for specific crimes. This approach promotes justice, prevents bias and prejudice, and helps maintain a clear and consistent system that discourages criminal behaviour.