Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities n the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Private cars have experienced a significant rise throughout the past three decades over the world, this makes traffic jams occur constantly. The writer of this essay thinks this trend is true due to rising incomes and overpopulation, hope can be found in the possibility of the government using public transportation. To commence with, higher salaries are one of the factors contributing to this statement being true. It must be recognized that individuals getting more salaries will have a chance to buy cars easily compared to poor people. Likewise, after spending on personal needs, the remaining money is given to residents's banks to save for a long time. Therefore, after many years, they can choose their favourite car and use the savings money to purchase it. In countries like the US, where residents have a huge possession, this leads to every family buying some cars for each member. Another aspect that supports the situation is overpopulation. This is due to the fact that the world population has increased really rapidly every year and this is beyond scientists's estimation. Concurrently, the more cars on the street, the more traffic congestion occurs. Moreover, residents are likely to own a car because convenience which it makes. Hence, the government should take some good measures to confine this growth. One effective way to address this issue is public transport. It cannot be denied that this vehicle only moves between some specific places to welcome commuters. Similarly, public conveyance can contain lots of people compared to owning a car and ticket prices are affordable for everyone. What's more, the urban transportation network is really eco-friendly and can significantly reduce the number of cars on the road. If successfully executed, this would ensure individuals do not have to wait for hours anymore and moving will become much easier. In conclusion, it can be seen that this trend is true because of improved financial resources and high population density. In addition, the government should encourage citizens to use public transportation to enhance traffic mobility.