More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. What are the reasons for this movement? Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Some individuals are of the opinion that moving to urban areas is better in search of an improved quality of life. While others say that city lifestyle can be extremely demanding. This essay argues that although rural areas are free from pollution and provide much greenery, cities have more developed infrastructure and social amenities such as accommodation, job opportunities, healthcare, and transportation. On the one hand, one advantage of living in the countryside is that such areas are free from pollution because there are many trees and views of nature in comparison to cities that have many factories and industries which emit a lot of toxic substances to the environment. This also leads to a healthier population because there is less inhalation of these poisonous smoke into the airways which reduces the frequency of diseases. Furthermore, people in villages have access to fresh farm products with less preservatives and additives unlike farm produce in the city that are heavily processed due to the excessive use of fertilizers. For example, according to statistics, in Nigeria, it is recorded that people who reside in villages have a longer life-span compared to those who live in urban communities. However, I believe that life in the city is much better compared to the surburbs because there are more public services. On the other hand, others opine that life in the city is much better because there is more access to better healthcare facilities, transportation networks, employment opportunities, and accommodation. Furthermore, governments of cities have the financial resources to provide well-developed infrastructure and improve the standard of living for their citizens which impacts their lives directly compared to rural areas that have limited financial capacity to provide good standard of lives for their residents. For instance, in Kenya, there has been a noticeable rise in the migration of residents from rural to urban areas. Hence, I believe that it is better to live in urban communities compared to rural areas that provides better standard of living. In conclusion, some are of the opinion that migrating to cities and residing in urban areas is extremely tough. However, I believe that life in the city is much plausible because of easier access to social amenities and improved standard of life compared to rural areas where there is no civilisation.