In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of oil drilling operations in remote locations around the world. This has brought economic benefits to some countries, though it has also raised concerns about the environmental impact of these operations. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Over the last few decades, there has been a noticeable rise in the oil exploration practices in far-off regions. Although these extraction processes significantly contribute to the boom in the economy, but they also pose rather alarming plethora of risks to the ecosystems. I personally stand with the latter viewpoint, and believe that these practices result in depletion and accidents that severely harm our natural world. To commence with, the ever-increasing demand for natural resources like crude oil and gas to generate energy has resulted in further tapping of untouched locations in search for oil reserves. It is undeniable that such operations create abundant employment opportunities for the local people. Additionally, dependency on oil imports diminishes, as the country becomes self-sufficient. To exemplify, Equatorial Guinea, small country in the west Africa experienced exponential growth economically, upon discovery of natural oil reserves in 1995. This resulted in enhanced infrastructure which visibly changed the country’s landscape, along with advanced educational standards and health care systems. On the other hand, these extraction processes come with various potential risks that can prove to be detrimental for the environment. Crude oil, being a non-renewable fossil fuel, might end up getting depleted with countless on-shore and offshore drilling processes going on around the world, to meet the rampant global demand. Furthermore, these operations often lead to accidents such as oil spills which not only contaminate the sea water but also adversely effects the marine life, natural habitats and might end up entering the food chain, which can directly affect humans. To illustrate, deep water horizon oil spill is known to be the largest spill in the history of the U.S. Having killed and injuring plenty of on-site workers, the oil devastated habitats and marine life including corals, fish, birds, sea turtles. To recapitulate, while extraction of fossil fuels might bring about economic advantage to the country, I strongly believe that these processes are posing alarming menaces such as oil spills which result in adverse ramifications the ecological systems.