Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would be benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate whether doing unpaid work in their spare time to support the local community. While some believe that all teenagers have to do work without pay because it is beneficial for them, others argue that this opinion is unnecessary. I firmly agree with the former and doing this type of job can benefit them socially as well as mentally. First of all, youngsters can have an opportunity to practice altruism through doing community services voluntarily. By this way, they will learn how to share and to be more generous to those who are more disadvantaged. As a result, they begin to put themselves in others' shoes and gain a deeper understanding about social values of what helping others selflessly can offer in return instead of getting paid by what they do. For example, in Vietnam, most high schools require students to take part in the Youth Union and take on many voluntary projects such as clearing waste in canals in some local areas to help the environment cleaner. From this activity, a recent research shows that they start to enjoy doing this type of work because they are more likely to find a good meaning in life. Yet, they may get unmotivated to do volunteering without receiving any pay because they feel like they are not receiving reciprocation that is worth their time and efforts. However, these individuals are not mature enough to get ready for having real jobs. Therefore, by doing community service, they can practice patience and resilience so as to overcome the ups and downs later in their adulthood, rather than sticking to their egos and only focus on what they really want. For instance, a research shows that young people who have done voluntary work in their teens often become more empathetic and persistent in life compared to their peers. In conclusion, doing an unpaid job in their free time can help boosting their social skills and develop to have compassion towards people who are not in favor. Personally, I hope that this trend will still be maintained in the future.