in many countries, formal exams are used to assess the student abilities to judge the success of their education. what are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess student's abilities? do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks.

There is no doubt, that after completing semesters students have to appear in the formal exams so that their abilities can be judged by the schools or colleges. As a result, they become eligible to get enrolled in higher education. However, this tendency of assessing students is more advantageous, it becomes helpful for students to get success in their education. It is often claimed that, students have to sit in exams so that they can show their potential what they have learnt in their classes. Appearing in exams also motivate them to achieve gold medals, and trophies in the prize distribution function. To cite an example, I remember there was a number of competitions such as quizzes and so on, are used to hold in our colleges by which students were examined. As a result, it creates a sense of accomplishment and appreciation. Along with this, learners who pass their examination with flying colours, there is more chances to get admission to universities as compared to the other students. Eventually, they will get more opportunities in the job search. on the other side, there could be minor drawbacks of assessing students through annual exams because sometimes they could not perform well due to the excessive burden of studies, mental stress and lack of relaxation. Moreover, there are some pupils who are not interested in learning academic subjects such as maths and science but they can accomplish success in other fields like sports and music. To demonstrate it, there might be students who are less likely to pay attention to traditional subjects but they might have the potential to become a millionaires in their lives. To recapitulate, examining learners through formal exams can be more advantageous yet its drawbacks cannot be fully neglected. I believe that there should be a limited syllabus assigned to the students so that they do not have an abundance of the burden of the examination.