Education should be free to all people and should be paid for and managed by the government. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Undoubtedly, education is a fundamental factor that contributes to the growth of a country. Many people believe that this opportunity should be financed by the country's administration. I firmly disagree with this statement. This essay will look at how the financial implications and standard of education will be affected. Firstly, most countries already struggle to keep their heads above water in today's economy. Although there is not a lot of capital being put into a schooling system, expenses such as books and stationery will become a burden for local governments if it has to become free for all students. A study done by the University of Pretoria, found that nearly a third of schools in South Africa spend 80% of their monthly income on topping up books and stationery. Furthermore, the standard of education will drop significantly in the majority of educational institutions. The implementation of free education causes a delay in the proper distribution of materials to schools. A country with over 2500 schools will not properly function due to the backlog and delayed payments from government administrations and finance departments. Therefore many students and teachers will be placed under immense pressure to complete the curriculum in accordance with the teaching plan. In conclusion, free culture that is run by the government will not be efficient enough, due to administration, distribution and funding flaws. It is recommended that government look at proper systems that can lead to effective funding and resource distribution.