Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that innovation should be targeted towards addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Since the second world war, technology innovation never stops to increase and then improving people life habits. While individuals think that innovation is only driven by profit motive, others consider that it is a real opportunity for social welfare and environment preservation. This essay will discuss both view before argue that while technological advancement is an integral part of human evolution, societies has to implement sustainable practices. Many people consider that innovation is only guided by market demands and then by profit and economic growth. Consequently, industries constantly come up with new consumer products that people are eager to buy. This strategy ultimately results in the people dependency on new technology products. A good illustration of this is Apple industry which sells a new iPhone every year with small novelties but individuals are eager to buy it. Extending this line of reasoning, profit motivation leads technological industries and governments to change population habits. Indeed, some laws could directly or indirectly oblige consumers to buy some goods they do not need arguing that it is an environmental necessity. For example, in European union, in 2035, only electric vehicles will be allowed on the road even though their fabrication models and their real environmental impact raises questions. On the other hand, people argue that countries should foster humanitarian innovation. This approach suggests that new technologies could be a solution to improve life habits and social welfare. To illustrate this point of view, medicine became more efficient thanks to technology and nowadays artificial intelligence can, for example, detect cancer still undeclared. This social benefit is further amplified by the possibility to limit environmental degradation through new technologies as renewable energies. For instance, in New Caledonia where de sun is very strong, solar panels are installed on building and houses to supply electricity not only for their own consumption but for whole the country. In my opinion, countries have to strike a balance on these two approaches. Indeed, while economic growth should not be the only motivation, innovation needs financial support to go on. This is means that technology companies must be to ensure commercial viability but their first goal should be social welfare and environmental sustainability. To illustrate, the development of artificial intelligence is a chance for humanity if it intervenes to improve it, not to infantilize it. Therefore, I think that all innovations should be led by ethical considerations more than consumption and then profit. To conclude, while some people think that new technologies are only led by economic growth, others believe that innovation should be targeted towards addressing social and environmental issues. In my opinion, societies have to find a balance approach to provide technological advancement with commercial viability, and the necessity to support a humanitarian innovation. Ultimately, innovation should serve people, not the other way around.