Personal information is shared readily online, and it is easily accessible, as nothing shared online is truly private. What are some possible problems that could arise due to privacy issues online? What are some solutions to these problems? At least 250

In today's day and age private information is not so private when it comes to the World Wide Web. People are eager to give away their personal details when it comes to making purchases, accepting cookies, or even making friends online. However, giving away information about oneself can lead to serious drawbacks, luckily the solutions to these issues are rather simple. Firstly, giving away information about yourself on the internet is never a good idea, since even “trusted” sources like Google or Facebook have been caught in scandals and lawsuits for selling user information to third party websites. These third party users could very well be scammers, or honest businesses trying to grow their market. Nevertheless, your personal details, something as insignificant as what ads you look at the most, or something as major as credit card details can end up in the wrong hands, and in today's society with online scams growing ever more frequent, entering personal details even into trusted sites, unless it's absolutely necessary, is never a responsible choice. On the flip side, the easiest way to avoid problems that arise with sharing personal details without hesitation, is to simply hesitate before sharing them. Some fake websites spend a lot of money to look as real as possible to the source material, naturally putting your identifiable data into these websites will have you scammed, blackmailed, or might get you a computer virus. When browsing the Web it's crucial to have critical thinking and be skeptical about what you see. Furthermore, these problems can be fixed by just not allowing cookies, by not clicking “remember my credit card details for next time”, and always staying vigilant, because people can identify you by the smallest bit of information online. To conclude, the online space is synonymous with lack of privacy. Thus individuals who are concerned about what they give away to others should think twice before clicking allow and accept on everything they see, because the repercussions of such actions can be seriously grim.