Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in building as all facilites and books are available for all to access. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing online?

Public libraries will no longer be seen in buildings because the majority of books and facilities are now made to be easily accessible by users on the Internet. The advantages of this is that it is convenient and because of its non-returnability. However, this new development presents certain challenges such as unemployment and high-cost of books purchased online. On the one hand, one of the benefits of E- libraries is that it allows its users to enjoy a wide variety of books anytime, any day. This is because soft-copy books are easier to carry around on your internet device such as phone or iPad because they are readable even when embarking on a long-haul journey. Moreover, once a book is purchased online, the owner does not have to bother about returning it compared to when books are borrowed in a physical library. For example, according to reports in the United Kingdom, there is a noticeable rise in the number of people who use online reading apps in comparison to those who prefer utilizing physical libraries. On the other hand, one drawback of closing down public libraries is that it leads to unemployment. As physical libraries no longer exist, librarians and other people who work in the library would lose their sources of income thereby causing high unemployment rates in society. In addition, a lot of books purchased online are highly expensive compared to physical books bought in person. For instance, according to reports in Nigeria, it is observed that prices of books bought in libraries are cheaper compared to those bought on the internet web. In conclusion, the use of public libraries would soon be outdated as the rise of many E- libraries dominates this sector. This has many advantages in that online reading is easily and quickly accessible, while many people would be out of their jobs and the cost of purchasing books online is very pricey.