Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, wastes money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In recent years, the role of arts is broad issue in the public debate. However, some believe that policians funding should be direct toward on community services such as healthcare or education. The following essay will clarify on these viewpoints. On the one hand, it is essential to recognize that individuals ought to have significant advantages of regional services such as medication or education. A critical aspect to highlight is that better medication systems will enhance public health, which highlights that authorities should build more hospitals to meet people's health needs, offering a direct impact on people’s quality of life. In addition, another vital point to emphasize is that education is a solid foundation for long-term national development by equipping students with essential skills and comprehension. Furthermore, investing in infrastructure like roads and public transport systems can develop economic growth and reduce traffic congestion. For example, one can observe that, in many developed countries, there are modern schools and hospitals available in almost every region, which shows the importance of these services. On the other hand, indeed, art plays a vital role in society, therefore, it should not be underestimated. A crucial consideration is that it contributes to spiritual life, cultural identity, and the economy. It understands that artistic activities such as theatres, music, and art enhance spiritual life, and improve mental health by helping reduce stress. What’s more, the arts preserve national identity and cultural heritage through performances and traditional shows. From an economic perspective, the art industry creates many jobs and attracts tourism. For instance, large music and theater festivals such as Broadway in the US or traditional shows in Vietnam attract millions of tourists every year. In conclusion, although the public services should remain the top priority, supporting the arts is also important for both cultural and economic reasons. Therefore, investing in art should not be considered a waste. I think the government should balance spending to comprehensively develop the material and spiritual issues of the people.