Nowadays more and more people are using media like TV or online platforms to read news instead of reading newspapers. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Currently, a lot of individuals use media such as television or Internet websites to read news instead of reading newspapers. This essay will argue that although the utilisation of social media to get information is costly and worsens digital divide among the elderly and low-income earners, this situation is highly beneficial because it provides convenience and easier access to its users. On the one hand, one major disadvantage of reading news on online platforms is because it deepens digital divide. Not many people especially the elderly, low salary earners, and people in remote areas have access to the Internet and digital literacy skills to navigate the web effectively. This limits the number of people with accesibility to knowledge and inclusion. Furthermore, it is expensive to use the Internet and constantly download and upgrade the latest features of various social networking apps. For example, in Nigeria, many people living in rural areas cannot afford and do not have access to information. On the other hand, one of the merits of reading news on media and television is because of its convenience. Nowadays, people can watch, read and isten to news from the comfort of their homes, virtually anywhere without having to buy physical newpapers and magazines. This is highly beneficial to people living in remote areas and those who have limited mobility. Moreover, obtaining news from online platforms is easily accessible to gather lots of information across various social media apps. For instance, many people in the United Kingdom, have access to the Internet and therefore use social media to obtain information. In conclusion, although reading news from online streaming applications is costly to maintain and widens inequality, its advantages outnumber its disadvantages because of the unmatched convenience and easy access to information.