Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to genetically modified crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

In today's world, many people believe that we need to shift to genetically modified crops for food production in order to feed the growing population. while this trend has both positive and negative aspects, I strongly believe the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will explore both sides and explain why benefits are more significant. One of the primary advantages of genetically modified foods is that it contain nutritional value. For example, studies in Japan show that with genetically modified foods, people are able to beat the cancer. This is important for the health of the population. Secondly, single place of land can be used for production of food and different varieties of crops can be grown within a short period of time. These place can be utilised for construction of buildings. Another major benefit is that it can feed the huge population, which often leads to lesser dependency on foreign imports. Thus, these factors make it evident that the positive effects are substantial. Despite the benefits, there are a few drawbacks associated with genetically modified foods. One concern is that these are lab grown, which might impact the health of the people. For instance, these foods contain chemicals which helps in production of food faster that can lead to various side effects. However, these issues can be often addressed through certificate from World Health Organisation that it doesn't have any side effects. Therefore, although disadvantages exist, they are relatively minor and manageable. In conclusion, although genetically modified foods may lead to some challenges, the overall advantages such as its nutritional value and faster food production that fulfil the needs of people clearly outweigh the drawbacks. Hence I believe this development is largely positive and should be encouraged.