Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that having a competitive spirit in the work atmosphere, during education or even in day-to-day life can be considered as a positive manner, however, others believe that competition can be detrimental and instead people should try to be more cooperative. In this essay, both these perspectives and my own point of view will be discussed. On one hand, many think that being exposed to constant examination in the eyes of others and comparison to others can help one to challenge himself and try to show a better version of himself. They example research on siblings with similar ages that shows the abilities of such children can better be flourished due to the comparison of their siblings, as an approval of their belief. Furthermore, they mention the score-based system of education from elementary school to high school as a proof of their claim. Also, you can notice in big companies when there is a vacancy, more qualified employees will get promotions compared to others, since there is merely one position available and more than one person applying for it. So, it’s just only fair to accept people based on merits which comes from comparison to others. On the other hand, other people argue that people should not be put in such competitive conditions as it can harm them mentally. to explain it more vividly, being in a competitive situation makes you believe you are simply not good enough which can cause a lack of confidence and more personality issues as one grows older. For example, if parents continuously compare their children with each other or if in a class students are constantly compared with other peers, it can kill one ’s confidence and self-esteem as you may think how hard you try you will never reach the achievement others are capable of. Such wrong beliefs can even affect your future relationships, making a weak person out of you. So, due to these reasons I firmly believe cooperation with others is much more constructive than comparison. Being cooperative can help you become calmer, helping and supporting which will ultimately help us build a better society. In conclusion, although some consider comparison as a valuable element, to my mind and some others comparison is more of a negative and harmful element rather than useful as it can kill your intuition and harm your self-esteem.