Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is that? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

These days, people have tendency to cycle as an effective of improving their physical health and protecting environment. This situation can be explained by many causes and methods to accelerate the use of bicycles. In today’s fast-paced world, the drivers have a variety of ways to choose a mean of transportation instead of a bicycle. The most major reason is overdependence on motor vehicles such as cars or motorcycles. These modes of transport are more convenient and suitable for long distances than bicycles. What is more, many countries lack facilities, which are cycling paths. Therefore, cyclists in these regions must be in the same lane as the motor, which is threatening behaviour. For instance, in main metropolitans like Ha Noi City or Ho Chi Minh City, clogged roads during rush hours, and limited cycling lanes have led to the trend of using automobiles or public transports. Promoting cycling can be initiated through various approaches. Firstly, the government should impose a heavy tax on motor vehicles. This tax would discourage everybody from using the motor, and hearten them to change to bicycles. Secondly, the authorities should build more bicycle lanes for citizens. When a system is well-developed, people would consider bicycles a safe and convenient mode of transport. In conclusion, there are some causes why people seldom ride bike as a mean of transport including its less flexibility and deficient amenities. Moreover, a few ways to hearten individuals to use bicycles more specifically the high taxation and private lanes for bicycles. (By Minh Châu – 250 words)